CANADIAN DIRECT INVESTMENTS IN THE POST-SOVIET STATES
Table of contents
Share
QR
Metrics
CANADIAN DIRECT INVESTMENTS IN THE POST-SOVIET STATES
Annotation
PII
S268667300000616-7-1
Publication type
Article
Status
Published
Edition
Pages
70-84
Abstract
The article is devoted to Canadian direct investments and operations of Canadian transnational corporations in the former Soviet Union. A brief analysis of general trends in Canadian inward and outward FDI flows is provided, followed by a detailed description of Canadian companies’ activities in the former Soviet Union. Special attention is paid to significant Canadian investments in Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan. It is noted that in the former Soviet Union Canadian companies invest mainly in mining projects, which is not surprising as Canada-based transnational mining corporations have a rather high risk tolerance profile and are used to operating in countries where investment climate and political stability are not ideal.
Keywords
direct investments, transnational corporations, former Soviet Union
Date of publication
09.03.2016
Number of purchasers
0
Views
553
Readers community rating
0.0 (0 votes)
Cite Download pdf
1

References



Additional sources and materials


«Versii.com». 26.09.2009 (http://versii.com/news/188537/).
Natsional'nyj Bank Kazakhstana (http://www.nationalbank.kz/?docid=679&switch=russian).
Natsional'nyj Bank Respubliki Belarus' (http://www.nbrb.by/statistics/ForeignDirectInvestments).
Natsional'nyj Statisticheskij Komitet Kyrgyzskoj Respubliki. Dinamicheskaya tablitsa 4.04.00.07 (http://stat.kg/ru/statistics/investicii/).
«RBK - Ukraina». 26.01.2015 (http://www.rbcua.com/rus/news/ukraina-i-kanada-nadeyutsya-uvelichit-tovarooborot-za-schet-26012015113600).
AKIpress. 09.02.2015 (http://www.akipress.com/news:555224/).
Bank of Lithuania (https://www.lb.lt/stat_pub/statbrowser.aspx?group=8293&lang=en).
Black Sea News. 29.05.2015 (http://www.blackseanews.net/read/100281).
Cameco Corp. (http://www.cameco.com/businesses/uranium-operations/kazakhstan/inkai).
Centerra Gold Inc. (http://www.centerragold.com/content/kumtor).
Centerra Gold Inc. (http://www.centerragold.com/sites/default/files/q4_2014_fs_-_filed_feb_19_2014.pdf).
Condor Petroleum Inc. (http://www.condorpetroleum.com/pdf/Condor%20AIF%202014%20vFinal.pdf, p. 13).
Diplomat & International Canada. 22.06.2014 (http://diplomatonline.com/mag/2014/06/armenia-and-canada-a-trading-work-in-progress/).
Dundee Precious Metals Inc. (http://www.dundeeprecious.com/English/operations/producing-mines/kapan/default.aspx).
Dundee Precious Metals Inc. (http://www.dundeeprecious.com/files/annual_report/2014-DUNDEE-ANNUAL-REPORT_lr_v001_s0kuo2.pdf, p. 139).
Eesti Pank (http://statistika.eestipank.ee/?lng=en#listMenu/2293/treeMenu/MAKSEBIL_JA_INVPOS/146).
Embassy of the Republic of Kazakhstan to Canada. Kazakhstan-Canada Relations (http://kazembassy.ca/kazakhstan-canada-relations/).
Estonian Embassy in Ottawa (http://www.estemb.ca/frontpage/estonia_and_canada/newwin/aid-496).
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (http://international.gc.ca/global-markets-marches-mondiaux_draft/markets-marches/map_ukraine-pam_ukraine.aspx?lang=eng).
Gulf International Minerals Ltd. (http://www.gulf-intl.com/operations.htm).
Latvijas Banka (http://statdb.bank.lv/lb/Data.aspx?id=128).
National Statistics Office of Georgia (http://www.geostat.ge/index.php?action=page&p_id=140&lang=eng).
Reuters Canada (http://ca.reuters.com/article/businessNews/idCAKBN0L72L020150203).
Serinus Energy Inc. (http://www.serinusenergy.com/ukraine_reserves_and_resources.html).
Statistics Canada. CANSIM Table 376-0141 (http://www5.statcan.gc.ca/cansim/a01?lang=eng).
Statistics Canada. CANSIM Table 376-0051 (http://www5.statcan.gc.ca/cansim/a01?lang=eng).
Statistics Canada. CANSIM Table 376-0052 (http://www5.statcan.gc.ca/cansim/a01?lang=eng).
Tengri News. 13.11.2013 (http://en.tengrinews.kz/industry_infrastructure/Kazakhstan-and-Canada-to-invest-200-million-into-uranium-23980/).
Tengri News. 13.12.2013 (http://en.tengrinews.kz/opinion/431/).
Tethys Petroleum Ltd. (http://www.tethyspetroleum.com/system/releases/downloads/000/000/188/original/2014-Q4-MDA-FINAL_v001_t59db8.pdf?1434679055).
"The Globe & Mail". 25.04.2013 (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/rob-magazine/centerra-gold-and-kyrgyzstan-time-for-a-marriage-counsellor/article11541901/).
"The Globe & Mail". 09.09.2014 (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/patience-pays-off-for-those-doing-business-in-kazakhstan/article20482120/).
"The Globe & Mail". 14.07.2015 (http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/politics/canadian-investment-will-reduce-corruption-in-ukraine-pm-says/article25505038/).
«The Ottawa Life Magazine». 04.02.2014 (http://www.ottawalife.com/2014/02/canada-kazakhstan-bilateral-relations-flourish/).
UzReport. 15.04.2013 (http://economics.uzreport.uz/news_r_104042.html).
UNCTAD (http://unctad.org/en/Pages/DIAE/FDI%20Statistics/FDI-Statistics-Bilateral.aspx).
UNCTAD (http://unctad.org/Sections/dite_fdistat/docs/webdiaeia2014d3_ARM.pdf).
UNCTAD (http://unctad.org/Sections/dite_fdistat/docs/webdiaeia2014d3_AZE.pdf).

Comments

No posts found

Write a review
Translate