LONG WAY TO THE PENTAGON: CHUCK HAGEL’S VIEWS AND INTERESTS
Table of contents
Share
QR
Metrics
LONG WAY TO THE PENTAGON: CHUCK HAGEL’S VIEWS AND INTERESTS
Annotation
PII
S268667300000616-7-1
Publication type
Article
Status
Published
Edition
Pages
95-106
Abstract
The article is devoted to the study of the foreign policy views and interests of the Secretary of Defense Chuck Hagel. His place in the policymaking mechanism in Washington is defined and analyzed, as well as the reasons that allowed President B. Obama to appoint him to one of the key positions in the Democratic administration.
Keywords
Chuck Hagel, U.S. foreign policy, U.S. Department of Defense, Atlantic council, Kazakhstan, Chevron corporation
Date of publication
11.09.2014
Number of purchasers
0
Views
853
Readers community rating
0.0 (0 votes)
Cite Download pdf

To download PDF you should sign in

1

References



Additional sources and materials

1. Adler B. Liberals Shouldn't Fear Chuck Hagel's Environmental Record // New Republic. 24.12. 2012 (http://www.newrepublic.com/blog/111397/liberals-shouldnt-fear-chuck-hagels-environmental-record).
2. Astana on the Atlantic: Transatlantic Strategy in Central Asia and the OSCE // Atlantic Council. 22.11. 2010 (http://www.acus.org/publication/astana-atlantic-transatlantic-strategy-central-asia-and-osce).
3. Foust J. Seeing Revolution Everywhere: The 'Kazakhstan Spring' That Isn't // The Atlantic. 20.12. 2011 (http://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2011/12/seeing-revolution-everywhere-the-kazakhstan-spring-that-isnt/250275/).
4. Hagel Ch. The Limits of Force // The Washington Post. 3.09. 2009 (http://articles.washingtonpost.com/2009-09-03/opinions/36871318_1_world-war-ii-foreign-policy-vietnam).
5. Halvorssen T. So Sue Me: DC Henchman of Kazakh Dictator Threatens HRF with Lawsuit // Forbes. 13.11. 2012 (http://www. href='contents.asp?titleid=3599' title='Forbes'>Forbes.com/sites/thorhalvorssen/2012/11/13/so-sue-me/).
6. Korte G. Hagel's Worldview Shaped by Business as Much as War // USA Today. 14.01. 2013 (http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/politics/2013/01/13/chuck-hagel-business-interests/1820335/).
7. Kredo A. Borat, Chuck Hagel, and an Oil Company Walk into a Bar // The Washington Free Beacon. 11.02.2013 (http://freebeacon.com/borat-chuck-hagel-and-an-oil-company-walk-into-a-bar).
8. Pease K. International Organizations; Perspectives on Governance in the Twenty-First Century (Fourth Edition). New York: Longman. 2010. 239 p.
9. Ruff A. Why Progressives Should Oppose Hagel // The Progressive. 8.01.2013 (http://www.progressive.org/why-progressives-should-oppose-hagel).
10. Sen. Chuck Hagel Delivers Remarks to the Brookings Institution On U.S. Foreign Policy and the 2008 Presidential Campaign // Political Transcript Wire. 27.08.2009 (http://political-transcript-wire.vlex.com/vid/chuck-hagel-brookings-institution-u-65185906).
11. Silverstein K., and Williams B. Chuck Hagel's Think Tank, Its Donors, and Intellectual Independence // New Republic. 12.02.2013 (http://www.newrepublic.com/article/112398/chuck-hagels-atlantic-council-foreign-donors-and-independence#).
12. Twenty Years of Kazakhstan Independence and U.S. - Kazakhstan Relations. 31.01.2012. Atlantic Council (http://www.acus.org/event/twenty-years-kazakhstan-independence-and-us-kazakhstan-relations/transcript/intro-remarks).
13. U.S. Congress. Senate. Caspian Sea Oil Exports: Chuck Hagel. Congressional Testimony. June 8, 1998. Washington Transcript Service.
14. U.S. Congress. Senate. Subcommittee on International Economic Policy, Export and Trade Promotion. Hearing on Caspian Sea Oil. February 25, 1998. Congressional Testimony. Policy on Caspian Sea Oil Pipeline: Statement by Senator Chuck Hagel. Washington, D.C., 1998.
15. Wood P. Democrats Should Oppose Hagel Nomination // Irregular Times. 16.01.2013 (http://irregulartimes.com/index.php/archives/2013/01/16/democrats-should-oppose-hagel-nomination/).
16. Young C. Russia Remains the Same // Weekly Standard. 29.06.2009. Vol. 14. No. 39. P. 15.

Comments

No posts found

Write a review
Translate